top of page




The Sacrament of Baptism is often called "The door of the Church," because it is the first of the seven sacraments not only in time (since most Catholics receive it as infants) but in priority since the reception of the other sacraments depends on it. It is the first of the three Sacraments of Initiation, the other two being the Sacrament of Confirmation and the Sacrament of Holy Communion. Once baptized, a person becomes a member of the Church. Traditionally, the rite (or ceremony) of baptism was held outside the doors of the main part of the church, to signify this fact.


The Eucharist

Catholics believe the Eucharist, or Communion, is both a sacrifice and a meal. We believe in the real presence of Jesus, who died for our sins. As we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God.



The sacrament of Confirmation, [the baptized] are more perfectly bound to the Church and are enriched with a special strength of the Holy Spirit. Hence they are, as true witnesses of Christ, more strictly obliged to spread and defend the faith by word and deed.



The Sacrament of reconciliation is one of the most unique and beautiful aspects of Catholicism. Jesus Christ, in His abundant love and mercy, established the Sacrament of Confession, so that we as sinners can obtain forgiveness for our sins and reconcile with God and the Church. The sacrament “washes us clean,” and renews us in Christ.

“Jesus said to them again, ‘Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, even so I send you.’ And when he had said this, he breathed on them, and said to them, ‘Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained’” (John 20:21-23)


Anointing of the Sick

The anointing of the sick is often a Catholic Christian’s final sacrament. It is given to people who are in danger of becoming more sick from a serious illness and it is also given to those who are likely to die soon.
This sacrament is given by a priest. It is often given to a person in hospital but it may also be given in a person’s home.
Illness often brings a crisis in a person’s life. This sacrament is a ceremony that gives Catholics spiritual comfort and often helps them to recover their health.
The reason for the anointing of the sick is found in the life of Jesus, who showed special care for the sick and told his followers to have the same concern.


Holy Order

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the continuation of Jesus Christ's priesthood, which He bestowed upon His Apostles. This is why the Catechism of the Catholic Church refers to the Sacrament of Holy Orders as "the sacrament of apostolic ministry."


DIACONATE Click here


Sacrament of Holy Matrimony

God Himself is the author of marriage. He began by creating man and woman. Thus, in the very nature of man and woman, the vocation to marriage is written, i.e. a partnership of the whole of life and by its nature ordered toward the good of the spouses and the procreation and education of their offspring. (CCC 1601-1603)

bottom of page